This is an old revision of the document!
Rule of Paths
A mage may never spend more gems or blood slaves in one turn than his current level in the relevant path.
Rule of One
A mage can use exactly one gem or blood slave to boost the corresponding path one level. 1)
Rule of Stash
A mage can only use gems from their own inventory.
Rule of Blood
A mage can use any friendly blood slave within 8 squares in any direction (so a 17x17 grid centered on caster).
Current level is the mage's basic path level + path boosts from items, path boosting spells and being in a communion